Passing (time in) the Old El Paso

1 06 2012

Not sure if I have ever tried Old El Paso salsa but I remember those old TV commercials about “tasting the old Southwest.”  Guess that means I’m getting older.

Well, I finally went to the real El Paso earlier this month. The vast majority of my 5.5 days in the West Texas town were spent at the Dow Jones Multimedia Training Academy, getting out of my comfort zone of writing and learning about other forms of storytelling — audio, video, slideshows. There was a lot to learn.

A very good experience and this was the final project I helped create. Had a good team to work with and everyone in the program was very nice. I was also able to get out and see a few things.

Day 1: The Sun Bowl and the Don Haskins Center on the University of Texas at El Paso campus.

Don Haskins coached Texas Western, now UTEP, to the NCAA title and made history in the process. Look it up.

At night I went to a baseball game in town.

On Day 2, we went to a viewpoint on Scenic Drive and drove right along the U.S.-Mexico border in town.

That’s downtown El Paso and Ciudad Juarez, Mexico in the background.

People in the El Paso neighborhood of Chihuahuita have the border fence rising high over their homes.

On Day 3 I went to a Middle Eastern festival in town.

Day 4 found me on the border near Santa Teresa, NM, with cows.

Day 5, and I found my way to an El Paso Patriots soccer match, where blogger Joe Rodriguez was a big help.

US Open Cup match between visiting Charlotte Eagles in orange, El Paso Patriots on far side.

Look for more from that night on this space soon. After that, the trip was over the following evening. Time to go home to catch another flight to another place. More on that in the next post.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 06 2012
NASR TODAY – June 1, 2012 | NASR

[…] Passing (time in) the Old El Paso (Jose Romero, My life of sports, y mas) […]

21 06 2012
algo sobre el peru

Llegue aqui por casualidad y me ha impresionado el contenido de esta pagina, lo encontrado
me ha sido de mucha utilidad y he aprendido cosas interesantes, es muy dificil hallar webs de alta calidad en estos tiempos, muy agradecido y bendiciones.

Leave a Reply

