Starting sports weekend with a celebration

24 09 2011

Big sports weekend for me. Off to Tucson soon to see my Ducks play the Arizona Wildcats — ESPN night game!

Last night I got to be up close and personal as the Arizona Diamondbacks celebrated clinching the NL West championship. It’s something they hadn’t done since 2007, and the team media relations people let media members down on the field to witness the moment right after the final out.

I also got into the clubhouse, where I found myself avoiding champagne being squirted and splashed everywhere. I got hit with a little.

It was quite a scene in there, guys drinking champagne and beer, running out of the clubhouse back onto the field, having their names chanted by fans. I guess you can’t expect a sellout crowd here in Phoenix for even a big game such as Friday night’s, in which the Diamondbacks were one win away from clinching the division, but about 42,600 was pretty big.

They had really nothing to cheer about until the final innings and at the end. But they were loud. And with the last out, here was the scene:

I wrote up a post with quotes from players and others associated with the team for SB Nation Arizona. Here’s video I shot of the party on the field, thanks to Seth Pollack for the cool flip cam.

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

30 12 2011
My year in review, adios 2011 « My life of sports, y mas

[…] I was at the ballpark when the Diamondbacks clinched the NL West division title at the end of September, and the celebration was fun. I was on the field to see it all, and in the clubhouse. […]

Leave a Reply

