Looking back on a live music weekend

20 09 2011

I was just talking about this on my way home from the Carlos Santana show Sunday night — I’ve been to at least six live shows since moving to Phoenix 19 months ago.

This past weekend, I took a trip back in time to my favorite era of R&B to see Guy, Al B. Sure, and another band I didn’t really care for back then, H-Town. I’m glad they started the show with H-Town although one of the singers was kind enough to shake hands with me.

Guy. Tall bald guy is Aaron Hall.

Al B. Sure , who sang with his son and nephew (they needed to pull up their sagging pants!) was the best part of the show. And the I-Phone takes good video. Here’s one from my wife:

He also performed this one you might recognize. It’s shaky because I didn’t want the security guy near us to see what I was doing!

Al B. Sure

Then came Guy, known for many R&B jams and the forefathers of the New Jack Swing form of the genre.

That was Saturday night. A show for grown folks for sure, but I used to listen to Guy and Al B. Sure a lot in high school and college.

Sunday night, a real treat – Carlos Santana and his amazing band outdoors. Still a great performer with a powerful message of love and hope and unity and human rights for his audience.

Santana was great. A ton of songs old and new, great Latin percussion and singers.

Carlos Santana, living legend

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 09 2011
Toni ToniToni

Thanks for posting this footage! Al and The Fam did an awesome job. Wish that I could have attended!!!! šŸ˜‰

30 12 2011
My year in review, adios 2011 « My life of sports, y mas

[…] month was a big one for live music. We saw Al B. Sure with Guy and Santana on the same weekend. Great […]

Leave a Reply

