The day before the start of a new EPL season

12 08 2011

I look forward to Saturday’s opening of the English Premier League with added enthusiasm having been to England last spring.

You might recall reading on this blog our (mis)adventures at Craven Cottage. I will see a live match in England someday.

Thankfully, the old stadium along the banks of the Thames was spared from the recent riots, and its Fulham v. Aston Villa in the morning. I’m happy to see the match will be shown on Fox Soccer Channel at 11:30 a.m. my time tomorrow, right about the time I am done with teacher orientation at Arizona State!

Yes, someone has decided I can be of help to younger minds. Crazy. Something new, but something to look forward to.

I am now squarely in the camp of those who cannot root for big-money teams in the EPL. No Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Man. U., just can’t do it. I would take Manchester City ahead of all those teams. Typically one to pull for the underdog or average club, I’ll roll with the Cottagers.

So that’s where it stands. Two things from Friday — saw Rise of the Planet of the Apes and liked it, went to Arizona Cardinals headquarters in Tempe to hear coach Ken Whisenhunt and it was strange to be back reporting on the NFL.

Enjoy Soccer Saturday everyone. Time for me to start following Paris-St. Germain again, too – is it OK to have a favorite team in every country or just one in Europe? Help me out.

Me in the PSG store on the Champs-Elysees in Paris in May

Actions

Information

One response

12 08 2011
Rod Nicholls

Bro – I was gonna repost this one until yo bashed on my gooners!

Leave a Reply

