My MLS All-Star picks

9 07 2011

The fan votes for the MLS All-Star starting XI are in and the players will be announced on Sunday during the Portland-Seattle match on ESPN.

photo courtesy of MLS website

No matter how you look at it or whom you think should be an All-Star or not, it will be a solid collection of players going up against Manchester United on July 27 at Red Bull Arena.

Since we’re just a few days from an All-Star Game in baseball, and if you want to see who I picked before the actual team is announced, I offer you my choices. And I invite you to submit to me yours as well.

Using a 3-5-2 format, here is my MLS All-Star team:

Forwards: Thierry Henry, Charlie Davies

Midfielders: Brek Shea, Joel Lindpere, Brad Davis, Jack Jewsbury, Graham Zusi 

Defenders: Jamison Olave, Carlos Valdes, Omar Gonzalez

Goalkeeper: Nick Rimando
Just for kicks, here’s the way my second team would look:
Forwards: Danny Mwanga, Andres Mendoza
Midfielders: Mauro Rosales, Davide Chiumiento, David Beckham, Daniel Hernandez, Marco Pappa
Defenders: Julius James, Drew Moor, George John
GK 2: Kasey Keller 
Yeah I know, no Landon Donovan on either side. He’ll be voted onto the team anyway I figure. I based my voting on the players and teams I’ve seen the most this season and while Donovan is having a great season, so are the Galaxy and I have one of their players on the first team.
I also believe in having as many players from different teams as possible, not so big on picking multiple players from one team even though if it’s pretty obvious to me I did so.
Shea, Jewsbury and Zusi have really stood out to me. They’re all just playmakers and having solid seasons, especially Shea from FC Dallas.
Olave and Gonzalez are like two veteran offensive linemen in football. Like Larry Allen and Walter Jones, as an example. Those guys were so good every year that reputation alone was a big reason they got to the Pro Bowl. I see the same in Olave of Real Salt Lake and Gonzalez from the Galaxy, two experienced center backs who keep thriving.
I felt like I had to have someone from the Philadelphia Union on the first team. So I chose Valdes. Defense has been a big part of Philly’s success and I chose their best defender in my mind.
Sorry Galaxy fans, Donovan Ricketts is having a fine season in goal for the Galaxy, but I didn’t pick him because he’s missed time with injury.
On the second team, my favorite picks were Rosales from the Seattle Sounders, Chiumiento from the Vancouver Whitecaps and Hernandez and John from FC Dallas. Rosales is a huge reason why the Sounders are in contention in the MLS Western Conference, Chiumiento has been a positive in a tough year for the Whitecaps, Hernandez is so good with his corner kicks and John has a bright future and is playing well in the back, as he did last season.
Actions

Information

One response

15 07 2011
Robert

Ugh I guess Alonso was left out because of the pick from every team selection policy.

Leave a Reply

