Lo Que Es Americano A Mi/What Is American To Me (On July 4)

4 07 2011

Happy Fourth of July to all!

Can’t have a holiday without these two songs about being American, and no, one of them is not the Lee Greenwood anthem.

Does it get any better than Hulkamania and The Godfather of Soul/Rocky IV/Apollo Creed on Independence Day for the USA?

And of course this rather obscure gem from (MC) Hammer, getting down with patriotism in the wake of 9/11. Give it about a minute to get to the music. Laugh if you want, but I’m sure it was coming from a good place in Hammer’s heart. Can’t Touch This!

More Americana to me…

-Watching the Nathan’s Famous Hot Dog Eating Contest, then eating a burrito for breakfast.

-Watching lots of baseball, and international and domestic soccer on July 4.

My Sounders jersey (the authentic ones have the U.S. flag)

-Spending time with family (whenever I can)

-Appreciating my right as a citizen to protest and believe in anything I prefer, and be proud of my heritage.

There’s more, but I’ll wrap it up with this…

-Keeping Native Americans in mind, because it’s not like they declared independence on July 4, 1776…

-Treasuring the greatness and vastness of my country, a land to be treasured.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

