Postcard from London: Wimbledon!!!

27 05 2011

Anyone who knows me well knows I like to play tennis. Watching the sport, though, has always been kind of a drag. Until now perhaps.

Having looked out over Centre Court at the famous All England Lawn Tennis Club in person, I’m thinking I’ll be watching some more of it next month. I’m currently following the French Open with added interest, having seen Roland Garros’  main stadium court from high atop the Eiffel Tower.

I’ll write more about this next month, but Wimbledon was the sports highlight of the trip to England for me. It really wasn’t a planned place to visit — once my wife and I arrived in London it came to me later that day, that as long as we were here, we should go find it.

And we did. No competition going on but what a cool place, I’d say after the World Cup, the sporting event I’d like to see most would be a major match here.

CENTRE COURT!!!

I have seen this place many times on TV. I can remember Jimmy Connors, Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, John McEnroe, Martina Navratilova, Steffi Graf, Boris Becker, Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras, Michael Chang, Mats Wilander, more Swedish guys, Jennifer Capriati, Yannick Noah, etc., etc….

Men's and Ladies' championship trophies

Got a T-shirt of this...

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

