Soccer on a chilly night in the desert

21 01 2011

I thought I knew cold to some extent having gone through many a Northwest winter. Not a Great Lakes or East Coast kind of cold, but cold nonetheless.

Maybe my blood has thinned in the sunshine of Arizona, but a zip-up hoodie did not do the job last night somewhere near Casa Grande, where I saw half of a soccer match from the field, most of the rest of the second half from the heat of my car.

More importantly than all that, as Konnan from WCW used to say, I got a story out of last night’s training match between Canada’s Olympic team and the local Arizona Sahuaros. Spoke with Nana Attakora, a player for Canada who also plays for Toronto FC of MLS.

I also took some photos.

A low, full moon before kickoff

Attakora in pregame

Moon rising. Game on. MLS teams will be here in the coming days!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

