MLS Cup 2010, opening post

18 11 2010

Hi all, this is going to be the first of what I hope to be daily posts from the MLS Cup in Toronto. FC Dallas vs. Colorado this Sunday night. Sexy matchup…ummm…maybe.  I certainly hope for a good game.

The journey to the Great White North is under way. I’m in DFW Airport waiting to connect to Toronto. No FC Dallas folks around here, not even in the terminal. Haven’t seen a shirt or hat or scarf yet.

I’m helping out with Soccer by Ives’ coverage of the big game. As you may or may not know I have been a contributor to SBI for several months now, and I enjoy it. Ives strives (that rhymes!) to get the best out of his crew of writers, and that’s one reason his site is one of the best for soccer in this country. But I don’t need to even say that. If you know, you know. By the way, look for my story on Portland Timbers technical director Gavin Wilkinson’s preparations for the MLS expansion draft. It should be on the site sometime today.

So Ives invited the crew to Toronto to be a part of the festivities and work, and I accepted. It will be good to see a lot of familiar faces, folks I met in my time in Seattle. I do miss those days with the Sounders but I’m thrilled to still be part of it somehow.

I’m a member of the North American Soccer Reporters. They’re inviting members to run for office, but I’m not sure I’ve been doing this long enough to hold a position. Anyone have any thoughts?

Hey Seattle, how about Josh Mayers? What a job he did. Talk about taking the baton and running with it. It’s a lot of work and Josh produced tons of solid content on his blog, which was once mine. Congrats to Fredy Montero on being named FutbolMLS.com’s Latino MVP and to the KC Wizards on the rebranding, even though I think Sporting sounds cooler in Portugal or Spain.

What’s that? I just heard a boarding announcement for Ferreira. David Ferrreira? The MLS MVP is missing his flight to Toronto? Naw.

Toronto is a great town. I covered the Sounders-TFC game there in April of 2009 and had a blast. Went to the top of the CN Tower on a sunny day, went to a Toronto Raptors NBA game, saw the Toronto Blue Jays on Opening Day of the baseball season at the Rogers Centre – man it was cold and wet out on that day but the game was indoors! – and of course, BMO Field. Great atmosphere for a match. It was cold but the place was packed. Freddie Ljungberg (‘member him?) scored that day.

Toronto is a happening place. I even saw the old Maple Leaf Gardens where the Leaf s of the NHL used to play.

So that wraps up this post. Til tomorrow amigos. Got me a plane to catch.

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 11 2010
Winner

More EPMD, please.

18 11 2010
Josh

Thanks for the shoutout! Have fun at the MLS Cup!

Leave a Reply

