A fun season comes to an end

13 11 2010

On Aug. 27, I wrote my first high-school football game story in at least eight years when I covered the Maryvale vs. Central game in west Phoenix.

The freelance gig turned into a regular one, thanks to the Arizona Republic sports editors, and I ended up covering a game every Friday from then until last night, except two Fridays in September when I went to Vegas and worked a major-league baseball game.

Last night was my last football game of the season because of prior commitments. It was a first-round state playoff game between Desert Edge of Goodyear and visiting Seton Catholic Prep of Chandler.

Desert Edge won, but it was cool to see the Seton kids posing for photos on the field together after the game and congratulating each other. And they played hard. They were down 35-6 in the third quarter and the final score was 35-27.

In all this season I think I did 9 or 10 games. Got to explore the Valley, from Cave Creek Cactus Shadows HS to schools all over the city of Phoenix and west to Westview in Avondale.

I wasn’t sure  I’d like it, but I did. It reminds you why people play sports, even though football is so violent. After all these years I spent covering the pros, I had to go back to my roots to make some money, but it was worth it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

