Welcome to the new life

10 11 2010

Well, it took some time to really get back on my feet, but I think I’m back.

I started my new job as an editor for CBSsports.com’s NFL Rapid Reports on Wednesday. It’s repetitive, but it’s good work, and after one day, I feel like I know as much about what’s going on in the NFL as I did on any day when I covered the Seahawks.

I’m fortunate to be doing something in sports journalism after walking away from a great job in Seattle. I spent the past eight months trying to hang onto the dream, and it wasn’t easy sometimes. Let’s just say I learned to do a lot more cooking and swallowed my pride somewhat. But this job makes me feel like I’m back in the game. A game that few are lucky enough to be part of.

It’s a hard world out there. I’m blessed because a lot of people aren’t making ends meet. I’m a family man now, it’s not just about me. I’m happy that my experience helped me land something.

Speaking of blessed, rest in peace Dave Niehaus. I watched a lot of Mariners games and/or heard them on the radio in my time there, and Niehaus was a constant. He’ll be missed.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 11 2010
The Wife

I’m so proud of you babe!

11 11 2010
Blanca

This is great news! I’m glad you are still in the sports journalism and representing for Chicano writers everywhere! A job is a job and all you can do is make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

