My MLS postseason awards picks, as made for SBI

27 10 2010

By now a lot of you know that I’ve been contributing to Soccer by Ives as a writer, and it’s been nice to work for one of the premier soccer sites in North America.

And you might have seen my story about MLS teams making plans to come out my way to Arizona for winter training in late January and throughout February. Naturally I’m pretty excited about this, even if so much of the feedback related to the story is politically charged.

Let me state my opinion as the one who wrote the article. Boycotting the state of Arizona is not the way to fight SB 1070, and yours truly is as big a critic and outspoken voice against the law as there is down here.

MLS should come here. They should grow the sport in a place where no team exists. They should expose youth of all races to the product. They should take advantage of the top-notch grass facilities and the sun and relative privacy.

The law is wrong and intrusive and unfair and racially motivated and invites all those of Mexican descent to be targets of discrimination. But if MLS, or any other league for that matter, opts to boycott Arizona, it is only hurting those same hard-working folks who depend on the boost to the local economy that sports leagues provide. It is votes and education that will beat the law, not boycotting. The state has suffered enough. I see effects of a down economy in the predominantly Mexican area of Phoenix where I live every day.

That said, let me show you my picks for MLS postseason awards and you can comment on mine or share your own. The asterisk means this is the guy I pick to win the award.


F Chris Wondolowski
F Edson Buddle
M Dwayne DeRosario
M Guillermo Barros Schelotto
M Landon Donovan
M Kyle Beckerman
D Omar Gonzalez
D Heath Pearce
D Jamison Olave
D Chad Marshall
GK Nick Rimando

Second team:
F Omar Cummings
F Juan Pablo Angel
M Sebastien Le Toux
M Steve Zakuani
M David Ferreira
M Bobby Convey
D Wilman Conde
D Jonathan Bornstein
D Kevin Alston
D James Riley
GK Donovan Ricketts

1. Chris Wondolowski*
2. Landon Donovan
3. Juan Pablo Angel

Rookie of the Year:
1. Danny Mwanga*
2. Tim Ream
3. Andy Najar

Defender of the Year:
1. Omar Gonzalez*
2. Jamison Olave
3. Heath Pearce

Coach of the year:
1. Schellas Hyndman*
2. Hans Backe
3. Sigi Schmid

Newcomer of the Year:
1. Alvaro Saborio*
2. Joel Lindpere
3. Juninho
(Sorry, Thierry Henry wasn’t here long enough)

This one wasn’t part of my Ives picks, but Comeback Player of the Year finalists for me would be:
1. Brek Shea*
2. Bobby Convey
3. Jeff Parke




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: