Why “throwball” is fantastic

12 09 2010

Sports are great, period. There’s so many options out there, so many teams and players to love and hate, so much anticipation and excitement. And then you throw in fantasy leagues, and you have even more of an interest.

Nothing like a Saturday of the college game to get you warmed up for the NFL’s opening Sunday. I think I watched two minutes of the Real Madrid match Sunday, consumed as I was with football (not soccer).

Let’s start with my Oregon Ducks. Slow start in Knoxville, it rained, they worked out their nerves, and then it was Blowout City over the Tennessee Volunteers in that huge stadium. Talent and depth allow the mighty to prey upon the deficient in football, and nowhere is that more prevalent then in high school and college. And the Ducks were the faster, deeper, stronger and more experienced team on the field Saturday. A 13-3 deficit became 48-13 quickly. Solid road win for the Ducks.

Sep 11, 2010; Knoxville, TN, USA; Oregon Ducks running back Kenjon Barber (24) scores on an 80-yard punt return in the fourth quarter against the Tennessee Volunteers at Neyland Stadium. Oregon defeated Tennessee 48-13. Photo via Newscom

I caught the end of the Hawai’i-Army game this afternoon (tape delay from yesterday). Can’t believe how the Warriors won that, especially on 9/11 at West Point. Such an emotional day. Lots of respect to both teams, and it was cool that Hawai’i walked over and joined the Army players for the playing of the alma mater.

College games I’d like to see before the next life: Army-Navy, Red River Shootout (Texas-Oklahoma), Notre Dame-Michigan at Notre Dame, any game at Aloha Stadium (Hawai’i).

Pro stadiums I have yet to visit: Buffalo, Miami, NY Jets, new Indy stadium, new Cowboys stadium.

The NFL was the biggest part of my life (not sure if that was good or bad) for a solid six years. I’m glad I can sit back and enjoy it as a fan now, though I’m pretty sure I’d welcome a second opportunity to cover the league if it comes. Congrats to the Seahawks for a good show in Week One. Maybe Pete Carroll knows what he’s doing, but it’s very early.

Also congrats to the Seattle Storm for winning Game 1 of the WNBA finals. I did catch a little of the postgame news conference with Sue Bird and Lauren Jackson.

And now, some cheesy Richard Marx as I think back to last summer when I was covering the Sounders.

Actions

Information

One response

12 09 2010
The Wife

This song sucks.

Leave a Reply

