Doing a small part to keep the SB 1070 issue in people’s minds

5 09 2010

Saturday was a busy day. Diamondbacks coverage, then off to Tempe for the fourth quarter of Arizona State-Portland State and postgame audio.

At the Diamondbacks game, it was Hispanic Heritage Day. I’m with that. Latinos are a huge part of baseball as players and fans. The team wore “Los D-backs” jerseys and they looked sharp. Fans received bobbleheads of catcher Miguel Montero.

Miggy!

There was also a protest planned right at game time. Police told me it did indeed take place though it was 108 degrees at 5 p.m..  As a journalist I saw it as my duty to make sure the protest and the organizations’s perspective were part of my story. As a socially-conscientious person – at least I try to be, especially when it comes to issues affecting my own people – I saw it as my duty to report that fans protested the law and Diamondbacks co-owner Ken Kendrick’s contributions to politicians who support it. The issue is still important.

As for the Arizona State game, I snapped a few photos toward the end. The Devils were playing Portland State, which is a school very close to my family’s heart although we are all true green-and-yellow Oregon Ducks.

press box view at Sun Devil Stadium. First time here in five years.

Action from down on the field

The Devils walk off the field after a 54-9 win over the undermanned and lower-division Vikings.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

