A tribute to amigos in other career fields

24 05 2010

Today I was asked to speak to a classroom of third-graders at an elementary school in Avondale, Ariz., about my line of work.

I had a great time talking to all the kids – enjoyed the questions, they are good interviewers! – but I also came away with some appreciation for a few adults I know.

Probation officer Rick Baca, who made a presentation about his job before I did. Good guy, awesome family, important job. He was a hit with the kiddos, especially when he displayed the tools of his trade, one of which is a bulletproof vest.

Teacher Jessica Valenzuela, who invited me to her classroom. Thanks, glad to be there! Her kids were so polite and paid really good attention. Certainly a reflection of la maestra!

And finally, a friend from elementary school days, Maryam Jazayeri, who is a field producer for news/series/TV documentaries with foreign crews in the U.S. Maryam saw my blog on sports and brought up cricket, then shared with me this clip from a blog she manages that is dedicated to a documentary she’s part of, guardingthewicket.com. Enjoy!

LA Open Part 2 from Maryam J on Vimeo.

Actions

Information

One response

24 05 2010
The Wife

Awesome! Congrats to you and Ricky Poo!

Leave a Reply

