Soccer, on what might as well be another planet

10 04 2010

Tonight I took advantage of an opportunity to watch the closest thing to pro soccer they have in this town…the high amateur (USASA) level Arizona Sahuaros vs. Grand Canyon University in an exhibition game at GCU in west Phoenix.

I think the fiance would have killed me if she would have joined me. She’s used to Sounders games – big crowds, beautiful stadium, atmosphere, etc. This place is, well, another universe.

The pitch is dry and only green in patches. There are no ballkids. I’d say there are maybe 80 people in the crowd at the most. The lighting isn’t very good. But here I am. Following my friend Josh’s Sounders FC-Real Salt Lake game thread and typing and watching this game. It’s 2-1 GCU I think.

Arizona Sahuaros vs. Grand Canyon U. (Sahuaros in yellow)

The Sahuaros are on hiatus this season I guess. They have no jersey sponsor. Just yellow with a blue number. But I have to give credit to the people that are here. They, like me, must really love this game.

I saw that former Seattle Sounders TV commentator Greg Vanney is on the Sahuaros roster, but I don’t see him here tonight.

Actions

Information

One response

10 04 2010
Jennifer

Yikes! I think you and the fiance would have had more fun at a Sounder’s practice at Starfire 🙂 Then again, it is awesome of you to go and support soccer at all levels.

Leave a Reply

