I’ve seen a lot of baseball games, but…

10 04 2010

…it’s rare to see someone hit a grand slam. I saw that last night at Chase Field covering the Diamondbacks-Pirates game, for AP, which Arizona won 9-1.

(Looks like there’s a mistake or two in the edit…that’s NOT me folks.)

Somewhat small crowd on hand, close to 22,000. Small to me anyway for a Friday. I was talking to Johnny Villareal, who was helping me with postgame quotes and info, and he said such a crowd on a Friday night in Phoenix is common. Even on a night that wasn’t so terribly hot. That was after I wondered aloud why more people weren’t there, especially on Fireworks Night. I missed the pyrotechnics by the way.

Johnny said PHX is a fair-weather sports fan place, where if you are winning, the people will come. Where an Opening Day crowd is the only sellout of the year. Where tickets are easy to come by.

Really easy, in fact. My next post will touch on that very subject.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

